Stoner Touchstone

Didn't turn over many new musical stones this weekend. I did enjoy listening to El Coyote's just released full length album. It's pretty tender and earnest so make sure you're not in your feelings as the youth say. Also, maybe give 'em a like on Facebook. Since they are a new band they could use the love.

What I'm really here to humblebrag about is seeing SLEEP last night at Liberty Hall. It was heavy as fuck and rad. (Duh.) The crowd was predominantly white men which should make just about anyone but white men uncomfortable, but everything was "chill". A guy puked in the lobby trashcan after the openers finished- so that was kinda funny. Poor fella. Master your high lil buddy. Once the band started there was some sporadic moshing but mostly just a lot of head banging. #bangover

I swear Al Cisneros looked right into my eyes but I was in a boomer balcony seat so I also might have just been really high. Oh the other thing worth mentioning is that before the band ever started I watched a man emerge from the venue, SLEEP pillowcase crammed full of other SLEEP merch in hand, reach down under the metal grate protecting the roots of a tree, proudly produce his hidden knife and shout, "It's a tool not a weapon" and disappear in the night.

I also played with Lorna Kay's One Night Stand at EJ's Urban Eatery on Saturday afternoon and it was probably the best we've played to date. Perhaps it's the promise of a delicious lunch that we needed? I had to some serious rallying for 3 hours at Cleaver and Cork that night. There was a Homegrown Buzz show on the KC Live stage just outside the restaurant so my night was basically watching white people waltz in, cup in hand, look for the restroom and hold the door open while incredibly loud rock music poured into the room. You know, you win some you lose some.

Side note on 96.5 The Buzz: Homegrown Buzz used to play a song off of "Safe House" by the Grisly Hand - I guess it must have been Paris of the Plains, but at some point we were just kind of on the outs with them. Are we too country? I've heard some pretty strikingly "Americana" stuff on Sundays. Don't people like country now? Like, just write a song about a flood, drop in a woman's name from the 30s and something about a cabin or a wagon and BOOM - Lumineers level fame. The other thing I want to not forget is that when I was a baby rock n roller the Grislies went on Afentra's Big Fat Morning Buzz and she asked me on air who in the band I was sleeping with. Yea that happened. It took me several years to truly process how fucked up it was.

#LIVE LOVE SMASHTHEPATRIARCHY

Also to the drunk guy who called the bass a cello on Saturday night- no.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Roughly Two Thousand Dollars

Tunnels

Strumming On Your Old Guitar